Insanely Great Startup Idea

If Digg distributed its comment threads to the blog posts themselves, that would be awesome. But if Digg also distributed the ability to do the digging to the posts themselves, that would be killer.

Digg is awesome. Disqus and other commenting services are awesome. Digg and Disqus would be awesome as one.

Those two feature sets are a match made in blogging heaven.

Want to race to see who makes this happen first, me or you?

8 Responses to “Insanely Great Startup Idea”


  1. 1 Spencer Fry 2009 March 9 at 7:55 pm

    The only problem with that is that you’d have digg commentators on your blog. Most people want to keep those trolls/idiots off their blog and not on it. ;)

    Maybe if only the positive +digged comments showed up.

  2. 2 Tim Burden 2009 March 9 at 8:00 pm

    I’ve got another one: what if bit.ly married del.icio.us? So you could bookmark your URLs while shortening them? Makes sense to me. Then a blog plugin that lets you take all your bookmarked URLs under a certain tag and prepare a blog post with them? Two big time savers right there.

  3. 3 Josh Young 2009 March 9 at 8:37 pm

    I couldn’t agree more, Spencer, and thanks for stopping by! But I’m not actually talking about Digg and Disqus. I’m talking about marrying their respective sets of functionality.

    The fact that Digg’s comments are notoriously atrocious is part of the appeal of this idea. That’s because locating comments on the blogs themselves would incentivize their authors to police the trolls and idiots. Digg itself would benefit because, in essence, it would be outsourcing community moderation. The kicker is that it’s outsourcing community moderation to the best possible place.

  4. 4 Spencer Fry 2009 March 9 at 8:48 pm

    Oh, I see.

    But, part of Digg’s appeal is that no one person (i.e. blog owner) gets more weight to their vote than anyone else. So are you saying they should or shouldn’t?

  5. 5 Josh Young 2009 March 9 at 8:51 pm

    Tim, thanks for the comment! I certainly agree with your first point. Were delicious a higher priority for yahoo, I bet they already would have integrated a shortener. The domain “icio.us” is already pretty short, after all. Wait, they’ve now switched to delicious.com, haven’t they? Oh well.

    I’m not sure what you mean by the second idea, though. “Then a blog plugin that lets you take all your bookmarked URLs under a certain tag and prepare a blog post with them?” Care to elaborate for us slowed by our sleep deprivation?

  6. 6 Josh Young 2009 March 9 at 8:55 pm

    Spencer, I don’t think blog owners should get a weightier vote. I’m just saying that I suspect that they would wade into the comments more and call out bad actors. So the policing would happen socially, not algorithmically, so to speak.

  7. 7 Tim Burden 2009 March 9 at 9:09 pm

    Sure Josh.

    I’ve had a couple of posts recently where I had to aggregate a great number of links. This one in particular would be paradigmatic, Paywall Madness.

    Now I wish I had delicious-bookmarked all those things as I went. I didn’t. And as I was assembling the post, it would have been too much time to go do that as well.

    But imagine if I was bookmarking those things as I tweeted (and shortened) them. Along with the bookmark notes and the titles already stored in delicious, imagine if I could take all my bookmarks marked “paywalls” and click a button to format a blog post that looks pretty much exactly like you see at that link above.

    That’s it. Would have saved me literally hours. And I’d have had them all nicely shared on delicious as well.


Leave a Reply

Josh Young's Facebook profile

What I’m thinking

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

What I'm saving.

RSS What I’m reading.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

